2018 Alaska Missile Defender of the Year

Anchorage, Alaska | May 19th, 2018

The Missile Defense Advocacy Alliance held its fifth annual Alaska Missile Defender of the Year Award Ceremony in Anchorage, Alaska on Saturday, May 19th, honoring those members of the Alaska Army and Air National Guard who operate the U.S. Ground Based Midcourse Defense System.

The top award presented was the Ted Stevens Award for missile defense, in honor of Senator Ted Stevens of Alaska, a champion of missile defense.

Fort Greely Base Defenders

Specialist Jonathan Dasta Cortes


Sergeant Bryan Gonzalez Nieves

Fort Greely Top Crew (Alpha Crew)

Sergeant Bethany Hendren


Staff Sergeant Josef Carstens


First Lieutenant Benjamin Maye


Captain Gilberto Ortiz


Major Bernard Smith

Clear Air Force Station Base Defenders

Staff Sergeant Justin Smythson


Technical Sergeant Robert Ives

Clear Air Force Station Top Crew

Technical Sergeant Kit Dawson


Second Lieutenant Sebastian Moore


Captain Sarah Atherton

Ted Stevens Memorial Award for best Alaskan Missile Defender

Lieutenant Colonel Keith Grimes

Event Program

Alaska 2018 Program

Audio From the Event



Defenders of the Year