2013 Peninsula Missile Defenders of the Year Award Ceremony

Seoul, Korea / November 2013

In Seoul, Korea our Alliance hosted the second annual Peninsula Missile Defenders of the Year Award Ceremony in celebration and recognition of the joint international team that defends the democracy and freedom on the Korean Peninsula.

We were honored to host this event which has brought the Republic of Korea and the United States of America closer together as a world champion missile defense fighting force.

Our event recognized the commitment to excellence of 2013’s the Republic of Korea’s best air and missile defense Patriot crews, the United States’ best Navy Aegis Ballistic Missile Defense missile defender of the 7th Fleet and the best United States Air Force missile defender of the 7thAir Force.

The 2013 Peninsula Missile Defenders of the Year award winners are:

35th Air Defense Artillery Brigade ECS:

PFC Ryan Eaton

SPC Laura Duran

2LT Megan Parris

35th Air Defense Artillery Brigade LS:

SPC Connor Moore

SPC Venessa Meaney

Commander, United States Naval Forces Korea:

ENS Elton Evatt

7th Air Force:

CPT Joshua Singsaas

3rd Brigade ECS Republic of Korea:

LT Hyo Chang Park

PSG Dae Wook Park

2nd Brigade ECS Republic of Korea Air Force:

LT Tae Jin Noh

SSG Dae Hyuk Kim

2nd Brigade LS Republic of Korea Air Force:

PSG Ho Jung Lee

3rd Brigade LS Republic of Korea Air Force:

LT Dong Yeon Goh

Congratulations to these men and women from the United States and the Republic of Korea for their combined efforts and steadfast partnership in missile defense. These missile defense war fighters have helped prevent war and preserve peace here on the Korean Peninsula.  This is a tremendous and remarkable feat that is duly recognized considering last years heightened threat from North Korea and their launch of the Intercontinental Ballistic Missile capable Unha-3 missile in December. Missile defenses from both the United States and Korea deployed in readiness and excellence throughout the Peninsula and in the waters around Korea which provided safety and security for the population of Korea.

It is a team game and no country can defend themselves against missiles alone. The strength of missile defense is what was recognized at this second annual Korean Peninsula Defender of the Year event, an across the board joint service team with our friend, ally and battle buddy, the Republic of Korea.

Distinguished visitors who attended the award ceremony include:

  • LTG Bernard Champoux , U.S. Eighth Army Commanding General
  • BG Daniel Karbler , Commanding General of the 94th Army Air and Missile Defense Command
  • Brig. Gen. Russel Mack , Vice Commander of the U.S. 7th Air Force
  • Brig. Gen. Kim, Jin Hong , 3rd ROKAF ADA Brigade Commander
  • COL Thomas Nguyen , 35th ADA Brigade Commander
  • Col. Kim, Young Lim , 2nd ROKAF ADA Brigade Commander.

This is our third Missile Defender of the Year Award Ceremony that we have done with an allied country.  The events began a year ago here in Seoul with the Republic of Korea. Due to the success of last year’s event, MDAA hosted the NORAD and USNORTHCOM Missile Warning and Defender of the Year Award Ceremony with Canada in May. The Peninsula Missile Defenders of the Year events last year and this year have established and led the path for MDAA’s recognition of the importance of joint international team efforts  in missile defense around the world.

Defenders of the Year