2017 Alaska Missile Defender of the Year

Anchorage, Alaska | May 6th, 2017

The Missile Defense Advocacy Alliance held its fourth annual Alaska Missile Defender of the Year Award Ceremony in Anchorage, Alaska on Saturday, May 6th, honoring those members of the Alaska Army and Air National Guard who operate the U.S. Ground Based Midcourse Defense System.

The top award presented was the Ted Stevens Award for missile defense, in honor of Senator Ted Stevens of Alaska, a champion of missile defense.

Clear AFS Base Defenders

SSgt Jonathan R. Rivera-Calderon, 213 SWS Fire Team Member


SSgt Stanislav V. Barilov

Clear AFS Top Crew

Capt Erik J.Haugen, 213 SWS Mission Crew Commander


TSgt Mark E. Lockwood, 213 SWS Mission Crew Chief

Ft Greely Base Defenders

SGT Travis Hall


SGT Nathan Williams


Ft Greely Top Crew

MAJ Michael T. Long


1LT Rachel L. Simmons


SSG Caroline M. Domenech


SGT Jose J. Aponte

Ted Stevens Memorial Award for best Alaskan Missile Defender

CPT Anthony R. Montoya

Event Program


Audio From the Event


Defenders of the Year