2016 Alaska Missile Defender of the Year

Anchorage, Alaska / May 21, 2016

The Missile Defense Advocacy Alliance held its third annual Alaska Missile Defender of the Year Award Ceremony in Anchorage, Alaska on Saturday, May 21st, honoring those members of the Alaska Army and Air National Guard who operate the U.S. Ground Based Midcourse Defense System.

The top award presented was the Ted Stevens Award for missile defense, in honor of Senator Ted Stevens of Alaska, a champion of missile defense.

The winner of the Ted Stevens Memorial Award in 2016 is:

Lieutenant Steven Havens, US Air NG


2016 Alaska Missile Defenders of the Year are:

Air Guard’s 213th SWS Clear AFS:

Major Joseph Garner, US Air National Guard

Master Sergeant Carleas Parsons, US Air National Guard


Base Defenders at Clear AFS:

Senior Airman Jezabelle O’Neil Roulette, US Air National Guard

Staff Sergeant Anthony Deppe, US Air National Guard


Charlie Crew:

Captain Peter Browning, US Army National Guard

Captain Kevin Fulmer, US Army National Guard

   First Lieutenant Mindy Cason, US Army National Guard

 Staff Sergeant Javier Solla, US Army National Guard

Sergeant Bensian Correa, US Army National Guard


Base Defenders Greely:

Sergeant Robert Stamper, US Army National Guard

Staff Sergeant Derrick Butler, US Army National Guard


Distinguished guests and presenters included U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan (R-AK); Director of the National Guard Bureau Joint Staff, Major General Gerald W. Ketchum; Assistant Adjutant General of the Alaska Army National Guard Colonel Joseph Streff; and the Commander of the 213th Space Warning Squadron Lieutenant colonel John Oberist.

Defenders of the Year