Join the Alliance

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Awardees of the 2019 Peninsula Missile Defender of the Year Award Ceremony at Camp Humphreys, Seoul, South Korea on November 21, 2019.

On the most threatened Peninsula in the world, with nuclear weapons and proliferation of complex missiles led by a spoiled and disrespected dictator heeding for U.S. and international reaction, we give recognition to the excellence of our Korean and American missile defenders on the Korean Peninsula that negate the North Korean missile threat.

Since the 2018 Winter Olympics in Seoul, when the Kim Jung Un charm offensive began, missile defense capabilities on Peninsula has enabled the Sunshine Policy by South Korean President Moon Jae-in to be amendable with North Korea to work towards a better bilateral relationship and a future unification, while steadfastly holding to the denuclearization of North Korea. The complexity, modernization, testing, development, and production of missiles by North Korea to threaten the Korean Peninsula has not stopped. While these North Korean actions undermines stability in the region, while simultaneously conducting a charm offensive, is being addressed by the Republic of Korea and the United States missile defenses on the Peninsula.

Thursday night on Camp Humphreys near Pyeongtaek, Korea we held our Peninsula Missile Defender of the Year award ceremony and recognized for their excellence in leadership 35 men and women from the United States Army’s 35th Air Defense Artillery (ADA) Brigade and the Republic of Korea’s 2nd ADA and 3rd ADA Brigades.

Here are the 2019 Peninsula Missile Defenders of the Year

United States Army’s 35th ADA Brigade

LTG Thomas Vandal MVPs

1LT David Johnston
CPL Donald Whicher

Information and Coordination Central (ICC) Crew – 6-52

SPC Matthew Miller
PFC Robert Williams

THAAD Fire Control Communication (TFCC) Crew – D-2

1LT Kyle Weiner
SPC Joshua Kadukara
PFC Cory Foraker

Engagement Control Station (ECS) Crew – A/2-1

2LT Madeline Carlson
SPC Ethan Hayes
PFC Dylan Verran

TLS – D-2

SGT Juan Padilla
SPC Brenden Miller
PFC Shawn Young

Battery Command Post (BCP) Crew – B/2-1

PFC Justin Johnson
PFC Joshua Walker

Tactical Command System (TCS) Crew – 2-1

PFC Vincent Montgomery
PFC Vincent Tapia
PV2 Peter Maldonado
PV2 Danial Vincent

Launcher Crew – D/2-1

CPL Carlos Pagan
SPC Daniel Stevens
PFC Genaro Emiliano
PFC Jeremi Turner

Sentinel Crew

SGT Rebecca Howe
SPC Joey Borja
SPC Jesse Munoz
SPC Matteau Tanner

Avenger Crew

SGT Wyatt Petree
PFC Michael Needham

Republic of Korea 2nd ADA Brigade

2LT Kuk Min Cheol
SFC Lee Chan Woo
SSG Sim Haemosu

Republic of Korea 3rd ADA Brigade

1LT Jo Jeong Hee
SFC Park Woo Min
SSG Lim Jin Hyuck

Read a transcript of my speech.

Through their efforts together, they are helping to create peace, stability and prosperity for the Korean Peninsula. Each of them has made a difference and an impact to make Korea a safer place over the past year. They are commended.

Recent Alerts

Mission Statement

MDAA’s mission is to make the world safer by advocating for the development and deployment of missile defense systems to defend the United States, its armed forces and its allies against missile threats.

MDAA is the only organization in existence whose primary mission is to educate the American public about missile defense issues and to recruit, organize, and mobilize proponents to advocate for the critical need of missile defense. We are a non-partisan membership-based and membership-funded organization that does not advocate on behalf of any specific system, technology, architecture or entity.